Herb RAKOW bez tla v1

Basic information
The Raków Commune ( the administrative district) is located in the Kielce County, the Świętokrzyskie Voivodeship, in south-central Poland. It covers an area of about 73.78 square miles (191,087 km2) whence 42% is the agricultural land and 54% is the forest. The Raków commune in 2010 had a population of 5987. The administrative district comprises of 28 villages including Raków, which is the largest and it is the seat of the Local Goverment. The administrative district area is the part of two mesoregions: The Szydłowski Foothills and The Świętokrzyskie Mountains. Across the central part of the Raków commune flows the Czarna (Black) River.

Poland was a conglomeration of many different nationalities and religions even before The Union of Lublin, when the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth upraised in virtue of the international agreement, and before the Warsaw Confederation, which granted the religious freedom to all citizens. Beside the most numerous population of Poles and Lithuanians, the country was inhabited by Russians, Armenians, Jews, Germans, Tatars and also arriving Scotts, Italians, Dutch and French people, who often was fleeing from the Counter-Reformation. Such a large number of national minorities was associated with the diversity of religions – from Catholics, Lutherans, Calvinists, Orthodoxians, through Jews and Islamists, to Anabaptists, Mennonites and Arians.